Restoring the Glory: Intro

After going through the Healing the Whole Person workshop that I mentioned in this post, I felt the need to go deeper into healing in the area of sexuality. And, as God would have it, the John Paul II Healing Center had me covered. They have an entire conference called Restoring the Glory dedicated to healing as it applies to our sexuality, rooted in St. John Paul II’s Theology of the Body.

During Easter, I decided that I want to invite Christ’s resurrected life into the areas of brokenness in my heart around my femininity. I am extending an invitation to you to join me on this journey. Each week I’ll be posting what the Holy Spirit is teaching me through the talks from the workshop. I can’t predict what is going to be involved in this and how deep it’s going to go, so I reserve the right to skip a week if it becomes something I’m not comfortable sharing with the whole world 🙂

If you’d like, I encourage you to head over to the JP II Healing Center Store and purchase the talks and workbook so you can listen and pray along with me!

To give you an idea of my starting point, here’s something I wrote a few months ago. It’s a list I made for a counseling appointment of the things I believe about my femininity. The Lord has addressed a lot of these things for me already, but there’s still work to be done. That’s what I’m praying He’ll do through this series.

(**NOTE: This series is going to be really real. It may make you a little uncomfortable, but I want to be as transparent as I can with you, because I feel there are a lot of things we struggle with that really just don’t get talked about. I want this to be a place where it’s okay to not be okay, and where we can come to find hope and healing for real wounds.)

Lies I’ve Believed About My Femininity

  • My femininity is dangerous and scary, an occasion of sin for me and everyone around me
  • Anything that pertains to my femininity needs to be done behind God’s back
  • If I go too far in living out my femininity, no one will be there to stop me
  • The emotion of love is always ordered to the genital expression of sexual love (= always wrong and dangerous outside of marriage)
  • Authentic love, given or received, feels yucky, wrong, and inappropriate – or at the very least confusing

What the Lord is Teaching Me

  • I am desirable. I give God glory when I live all the way out to the very edges of my femininity
  • God will give me the boundaries I need. He will stop me if I’m using my femininity in a way that is not pleasing to Him, and He has grace for me while I’m figuring it out. He doesn’t expect me to be perfect or always get it right
  • He is patient with my fear
  • I can love warmly and affectionately and purely. Those things are not a contradiction in terms.

 

That’s my list! Does any of that resonate with you guys? What are some of the lies you’ve believed deep down about your sexuality?

If you don’t feel comfortable sharing, I highly recommend you take some time this weekend to get alone with the Lord and journal about this – it’s eye opening to bring all the junk into the light and see it for what it really is. And that is the starting point for all healing, so if you want freedom and wholeness, it’s a must-do first step!

Praying for all of you, dear hearts. May you have the courage to face your story, and may the Lord meet you there to show you the way to abundant life.

Blessings,
Margaret

Leave a Reply

